What I’m Eating Wednesday

I’m back again with a new addition of What I’m Eating Wednesday. The theme of this week is: Setback time.

The past few days has really sucked for me activity-wise. I’ve been under-the-weather for the past few days. It started on Saturday with a light-headed sensation pretty much all day. I usually get this from time-to-time as part of my anxiety symptom flare-ups.. but it was fairly strong and lingering. On Sunday, it transitioned to a slight sore throat and upper sinus congestion. Not so much in my nose, but fluid in my sinuses and pressure in my ears. Sunday night I woke up at 1 am with a fever. I stayed home from work on Monday fearing the fever might return, and I was feeling weak and tired. (Fever DID come back, though not as strong.) Yesterday I felt better- no fever, but a groggy congested feeling in general. I stayed home from the gym to give my body another chance to rest. Today I’m just a bit congested with the need to blow my nose often and a lingering headache that isn’t going away with medication. I have PT today, so I’ll do that, but I probably wouldn’t go to the gym again today regardless. Blah.

Anyways. Food. Last week I mentioned that I had a couple road blocks in my way in the form of two bridal showers and a birthday dinner. I was pretty proud of myself for the first bridal shower- A luncheon one of my coworkers threw at her house for another coworker. There was Pizza involved.. and cake. BUT, I kept my other meals small enough (and went straight to the gym afterwards) that I managed to balance everything out.

Saturday, we went to a local Asian place for my mom’s birthday dinner. I ordered a seaweed salad and some lemongrass hot and sour soup- and shared a spicy tuna roll with my husband. Not too bad calorie-wise. But I also made a cake. I bought the Simply Pure chocolate cake mix from Pillsbury and used 1% milk, egg whites and applesauce to make it. I then turned it into a “poke” cake by poking holes in the cake and pouring cherry sugar free jello over it. That went in the fridge for 4 hours or so, then I added light cool whip for the icing, and some organic cherries to top it all off. She loved it, we loved it.. win. With the cake, I overshot my calories for the day. Not so win :-/

Sunday I went to a friend’s bridal shower. It was small, but there was a lot of food. I had a burger and some fruit to start off with.. then I added some chips.. some veggies.. a little dip, a black bottom cupcake (which might be the best one I’ve ever had) and then.. we had cake. Bad Stephanie.. BAD. I wouldn’t have had the cupcake if I knew we were having cake (it was hiding in a box).. and the cake was from my favorite bakery.. the same place we got our wedding cake from.. and well, I did eat it. Sigh. After all the festivities, I came home and made dinner (hours later, of course), which is the dinner we’ve been eating all week.

Coconut Lime chicken and spinach & mushroom quinoa

Coconut Lime chicken and spinach & mushroom quinoa (haha.. and a side of Mucinex in the background)

The chicken marinade recipe I got from Living Well, Spending Less, and I only used 2 tbs of olive oil. The quinoa recipe I got from To Simply Inspire and only used 1 tbs of olive oil. The quinoa, I thought needed something.. I’m not sure what yet. I tried it yesterday with a little bit of butter spread.. but it wasn’t quite the taste I was looking for. Maybe I’ll try a little salt tonight.

Dinner stats

Dinner stats

Working backwards.. for lunch this week, I still had two containers of last week’s salmon, potatoes and green beans. So these were lunch for Monday and Tuesday. For Wednesday and Thursday, I cooked frozen turkey burger patties (Harvest Land brand) and made some seasoned yellow/zucchini squash to go with it. For carbs, I combined a can of black beans and about a half cup of salsa, and added a half cup of this mixture for each meal. Overall- very tastey and satisfying combination. The burgers are a little thin and I can tell they are processed (vs made from ground turkey) but, they are a good portion and I don’t feel cheated or that I’ve eaten too much. The salsa and black beans are a great combination! and the squash ads the bulk to help me feel full.

lunch!

lunch!

Lunch meal stats

Lunch meal stats

My breakfast this week has been a little a-typical. Last Saturday, I went to our local farmer’s market with my friends. There is a great bakery that comes out and have a lot of wonderful artisan breads. I bought a Cinnamon Raisin Walnut loaf and a Great Grains loaf. The bread has all healthy whole ingredients and are color/preservative/artificial anything free. I froze my Grains loaf and have been toasting the raisin bread for breakfast. I add a little bit of light butter with canola oil spread to it and scramble some eggs. Add a side of fruit and coffee and it makes a great breakfast. Sunday and Monday I made a spinach and feta scramble (I always use two egg whites and one whole egg for my scrambled eggs), but today and Tuesday, I just made plain scrambled eggs. Either way.. it’s been pretty good.

My burnt toasted raisin walnut bread and scrambled eggs (spinach/feta edition)

My burnt toasted raisin walnut bread and scrambled eggs (spinach/feta edition)

 

breakfast stats

breakfast stats

For snacks this week, on the work days, I’ve had my typical morning protein smoothies. Monday when I was off, I ate a lot of fruit.. and cool whip.. which put me over my calorie range. I definitely eat better when I can regiment it during the weekday. I struggle on days off/the weekend and that’s something I need to fight hard to minimize. Next week I don’t foresee any issues food-wise (other than this being my 3-day-weekend week) Now all I have to do is get over this stupid illness crap so I can get back to the gym :-/

MyFitnessPal totals for today including my snack and turkey burger meal.. if only the rest of the week was this good.

MyFitnessPal totals for today including my snack and turkey burger meal.. if only the rest of the week was this good.

Leave a Reply

