Motivation and What I’m Eating Wednesday

I’ve been kind of in to watching weight loss success stories on Youtube lately. I think it helps to keep you motivated and moving forward when progress is slow and you just aren’t seeing results fast enough. I also have been frequenting MotiveWeight on Tumblr.. this website has TONS of before/after photos of real people who have committed to lose weight/build muscle/get healthy. Some people only change a little.. some people have amazing transformations. For some it takes months.. for others it takes years. But it’s a really cool website.. one can always use a little more inspiration to keep going. I also look at fitspo (short for “fitspiration”) on Pinterest, however, most of those pictures are not realistic. Some of the pins lead to blogs, which have been interesting to read, but others are just pictures super muscular women and men (fitness models) who’s bodies can lead to unrealistic expectations. There are also a lot of motivational memes though… and that’s helpful to look at.

When I get into a blog or a Youtube channel, I like to get an idea of what the person is eating. It not only affirms the food choices I’m making, but it gives me new ideas for my own meal planning. I’ve been meal planning myself for a couple months now. I usually prepare 2-3 full meals on Sunday that my husband and I eat throughout the week. One meal I pack for my lunch, and the other 1-2 meals we eat for dinner during the week. The challenge is planning the right meals that will help me stick to my calorie and macro requirements. I try to balance my breakfast and snacks based on my other two main meals so that I can hit my targets. Sometimes it’s a little hard.

I’ve been wanting to start a food/meal prep diary for a while. I log stuff on MyFitnessPal, but I’ve been wanting to share it here to create a visual record. Also, I have been known to re-start my goals from time to time.. and I end up resetting my account (at least on Sparkpeople in the past) and now I have no record of what I had been eating when I’ve dropped pounds. So, I’m starting a series called What I’m Eating Wednesday, to document my meals for the week, and to hopefully inspire some people along the way. I’m hoping to keep up with these posts, blogging consistancy has been a bit of a struggle for me.

ANYWAYS… Here’s my first What I’m Eating Wednesday.

Breakfast:

This meal tends to alternate a bit depending on the day. My all-time favorite breakfast that I love and could eat absolutely every day for the rest of my life is this:

Sprouted grain toast with guacamole and poached eggs

Sprouted grain toast with guacamole and poached eggs

OMG… so good. For this one I seasoned the top with a little Mrs Dash Italian Herb seasoning.. but most of the time, I don’t. Poached eggs are pretty easy to make (though a little time consuming) and does not add any extra oils to the meal. I’ve been pairing this with my coffee and some fruit (right now it’s strawberry and cantaloupe season!) and it keeps me pretty satisfied for a while. The guacamole I make myself using a spice packet from the grocery store. The bread is similar to Ezekiel, but it’s a different brand.

guacamole mix I use

guacamole mix I use

MyFitnessPal stats for this breakfast

MyFitnessPal stats for this breakfast

I ate my poached eggs/toast on Monday… but I realized I would like to eat guacamole with my dinner too. So, I decided to switch this breakfast out with some oatmeal for the rest of the week (at least as I’m eating the guacamole with dinner.)

Chocolate peanut butter oatmeal

Most of the time.. I blend half a banana with some almond milk, add this to half a cup Quaker old fashioned oats and a scoop (half a serving) of EAS Lean protein powder. Microwave for 1:30 then stir in a tablespoon of PBFit powdered peanut butter. YUM. This week though, I tried something new and made chocolate peanut butter oatmeal. I still used a half cup of oatmeal and one scoop of the protein powder, but to this one I added half a tablespoon cocoa powder and a tablespoon of the powdered peanut butter. I used a half cup of almond milk, then added a little more before and after microwaving to get the right consistency. Microwave time is still 1:30. I paired this again with coffee and some fresh strawberries.

Oatmeal breakfast

Oatmeal breakfast

Snack:

Since I eat breakfast around 5 am, I’m hungry again by 9. So, I have my morning snack- a protein smoothie. I’ve been using Ideal Shape protein powders for a while now. It’s an expensive product, but it tastes pretty good. It’s low enough in calories to be able to add stuff to the smoothie, and contains their own complex called Slendesta which helps keep you full. It doesn’t contain artificial ingredients or chemical junk.. which makes it great for clean eating, and it has tons of micro-nutrients. It’s a great substitute for the popular Shakeology, which sells for twice the amount. I’ve also been using Ideal Boost- a water additive with natural flavorings and their appetite suppressing complex. It tastes good and it does really help suppress appetite in between meals.

Ideal Shake powders

Ideal Shake powders

Ideal Boost

Ideal Boost

So, my smoothies usually consists of frozen fruit, a scoop of the protein powder, sometimes some extracts or even a tablespoon of sugar free jello pudding mix, and sometimes some veggies. Today I had frozen blueberries with vanilla powder and a tablespoon of sugar free cheesecake pudding mix. I use water to make my smoothies, but almond milk is great too. I blend everything in my Nutri-Ninja blender I bought for my birthday last month. Perfection. My smoothies are usually under 200 calories.. though some might be slightly over, depending on what I put in it.

11401574_10102160934861195_332033484421034658_n

My blueberry cheesecake smoothie I had this morning

Lunch:

For my lunch this week, I made some frozen salmon I picked up at BJ’s and paired that with some roasted red potatoes and green beans that I seasoned with rosemary, garlic powder, and onion powder.

Lunch!

Lunch!

Meal totals

Meal totals

Dinner:

For dinner, I made a huge batch of oven fajitas. I got the recipe from Budget Bytes.ย  I used two pounds of chicken breast and a large sirloin steak, green and red peppers, onion and zucchini. I mixed everything with the seasoning blend from the recipe and olive oil, and baked it for 40 minutes (mixing at the 20 minute mark).

before cooking

before cooking

after cooking

after cooking

My batch made about 8 servings. I’ve been eating this with some shredded lettuce, salsa, and some guacamole. It’s good… but a little higher on the calories than I would have liked. This paired with my lunch leaves very little wiggle room for eating much else this week.

Dinner stats

Dinner stats

Post Workout Snack:

I typically work out in the evenings after dinner. When I get home, I try to eat something higher in protein to help build the muscles I just worked. My FAVORITE go-to post workout snack is Quest Bars. OMG. They are SO. GOOD. Unfortunately, they are also a little expensive. I like to buy them in bulk from Amazon to save a little.. but yeah, these are not really budget friendly. They are a little high on the calories though- ranging from 140- 200ish depending on the flavor. But they contain 20 grams of protein, low amounts of sugar, usually high in fiber/moderate carbohydrates, and have simple non-artificial ingredients. I like to eat them (as my calorie allowance permits) after my workouts, and I heat them in the microwave for 15 seconds. They taste like legit dessert. My favorite flavors are Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chunk, and White Chocolate Raspberry.

Soooooo good!

Soooooo good!

So… with my meals this week, I have to make sure I’m working out. I was 200ish calories in the hole (1500 vs my prescribed 1300) before my workout on Tuesday. This leave no room for erroneous eating. After my workout yesterday (I burned about 400ish calories from yoga and working my chest/back) I could have skipped the Quest Bar. But I really want the protein benefit after lifting, so I had one and basically broke even for the day. My alternative for the Quest Bars is greek yogurt, but calorie wise, they would have been about the same and the yogurt would have added more sugar and carbohydrates, which I didn’t want to do. Next week I have to make sure to make some lighter meals to be in more of a deficit. I also have a couple road blocks coming up this week in the form of two bridal showers, and a birthday dinner.. so navigating rough waters. Balance and consistency is the key. Guess I better start looking at some motivational pictures to keep my goals in the forefront!

2 thoughts on “Motivation and What I’m Eating Wednesday

Leave a Reply

