2015 Disney Marathon Weekend! Part 6- Last Day and Departure

If you’re just joining in my 2015 Disney Marathon Weekend series… check out my other posts on our arrival in Disney, and my 5K, 10K, half and full marathon experiences.

The day after the marathon, I was still hurting, but I definitely felt much better than the previous day. With 12+ hours of sleep under our belts, we got up and had a nice leisurely breakfast. It was nice out- not too cool, not too warm, and a little sunny. I had a few things I wanted to do on this Monday, but I wasn’t in any hurry. I really couldn’t be anyways.. as I was still walking pretty slow due to my knee.

The first thing we did was wander around our resort. There are lots of cool sculptures around and we wanted to get pictures with some.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ariel is my favorite

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Joining the party

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Posing with King Triton

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mike is digging Sebastian

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Scariest Disney villain of all time

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Isn’t he handsome!?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think he likes this collection piece

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Treasure!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mike and the Snarfblack

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found a Dinglehopper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plotting with Scar

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I feel like I’m being followed…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hakuna Matata!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mufasa!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chillin’ with Rafiki

After we were finished our shenanagans, we headed out to Animal Kingdom. I was able to get fast passes for the Safari ride and “Its Tough To be a Bug.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Dramatic” picture in AK.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tree of Life

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Dramatic” picture of Everest

We had to wait a little while for our turn to ride the safari, so we wandered around a gift shop a while.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hanging around Africa

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Panama Jack

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this Safari hat suits me

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a Pumba pilllow!

Finally it was time to get on the Safari. Always a good time.

IMG_4220

IMG_4221

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the safari, we had some time to kill before seeing the bugs, so we popped over to Rafiki’s Planet Watch.

IMG_4225

On the train to Rafiki’s Planet Watch

 

When we got over there, we saw that Chip and Dale were out with a very short line. I got in line, but they left for a break when I was the second person in line. We wandered in to the main building and saw that Rafiki was coming out.. since there were only 3 people there, I got in line and got to meet Rafiki! He was very excited about my Dopey medal, clapped and gave me a big hug!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hanging out with my pal Rafiki

We headed back and made it to see “It’s Tough to Be a Bug” We really didn’t need our fast passes, but they’re cool to have anyways. When we got out of the show, it had started to drizzle a bit. I decided to buy a poncho in the event that it started raining harder. I really didn’t need to see anything else in Animal Kingdom, so we got on a bus and headed over to Downtown Disney.

The ONE thing I wanted after the marathon, was Ghirardelli ice cream. It is the best treat at Disney World ever! I had wanted to get one at the cool down party on Sunday evening, but I ended up passing out dead asleep, and even if I hadn’t I don’t think I could have walked fer enough to get there. So, my plan was to get one for “lunch” and then spend the evening over at Hollywood Studios, the one park we hadn’t been to yet.

We made it to Downtown Disney fine and found it wasn’t too crowded in the shop. There was barely any tables open though, but magically I spotted some people leaving and I scooped one up. It had started to rain pretty good while we were in there, and not a lot of people could sit out on the terrace.. so we were pretty lucky as more people were ducking into the shop to escape the rain.

IMG_4241

SO worth a marathon to eat one of these!

We sat a while and ate our ice cream. Mike was a little worried about the rain, but I still wanted to go to the other park. I figured we could wait out the majority of the rain and then head over. We finished our ice creams and decided to move to make room for other customers looking for a seat. We walked outside as the rain picked up again. We found a seat close to the building under the terrace and put our feet up to avoid the flood. Then the skies OPENED.

IMG_4244

Watching the monsoon!

We sat there for more than an hour watching the driving rain, and wathing people rushing to shelter. I didn’t mind waiting and it was kind of relaxing to watch the rain. It had cooled off a lot, but I was comfortable in my sweatshirt and poncho. At one point it had let up a lot, so we decided to make our break for it (mind you, I still couldn’t go very fast due to my knee.) The wind had picked up pretty good, and it was a cold rain. By the time we got on a bus, we were both soaked (and I was shivering!) My knee had been aching.. not enough to deter me from wandering around slowly, but I just couldn’t picture myself walking all the way back to our room to change, then all the way back to the buses to go to the park. I conceded defeat and decided just to go back and stay in for the evening.

IMG_4250

Drenched and on the bus.

We took our time and packed up for our departure the next day. I felt bad that we should have spent more time at the parks (tickets are expensive!) but you just can’t battle the weather.

The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast then caught the Magical Express back to the airport. Always sad to go home, but I was ready to get life back to normal. Since I didn’t get a chance to take a picture at a park with all my medals, we took some pictures in front of the Disney store in the Airport.

IMG_4262

IMG_4266

Proud Dopey finisher!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even got some of Mike in his 10K medal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

High five Mickey.. high five!

And thus ends my 2015 Disney Marathon Weekend saga. If you stuck with me through the whole thing.. thanks for reading! I hope my experiences gave good insight to the runDisney races and helped paint the picture of what it’s like to run at the “Happiest Place on Earth!”  Will I do the Dopey again.. NOPE- one and done. It’s just too expensive and too hard on my body physically. Will I do the Goofy Challenge.. I can’t say never, but it’s not on my radar anytime soon. Will I ever run another runDisney race.. I hope so! In my eyes, they still are the best races I’ve ever run. I hope to be able to experience other race weekends like Princess or the Wine and Dine Half Marathon. But for now, I’m taking a runDisney break. The takeaway- yes, it’s expensive. Yes, the challenges are strenuous both mentally and physically. But never put limits on yourself, whether it’s a 5K or an ultra marathon.. if you want it, take it! As Walt Disney once said….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

