Dopey Training Weeks 23 & 24

In my last training update, I had completed my first Dopey trial where I ran four days in a row, totaling 38 miles. Following that, I had two easy cut-back weeks.

Week 23

Week 23

Week 23

After my 20 miler… my knees were mad at me. Monday they were sore. I took a rest day of course, but by Tuesday, they were still weak. I went to yoga, but decided to walk my scheduled 45Β  minutes on the treadmill. I got the time in, so I counted that as a win. I did cross training on Wednesday, including kickboxing and weightlifting. Thursday I returned to running with a 4.28 mile run outside. I finished off my week with a 6 mile long run.. which felt ok, but my knees were much more worn out than they should have been after 6 miles.

Total mileage in Week 23: 13.08 miles (2 hrs, 58 minutes of running!)

Total Dopey training miles: 343.56

Week 23 Activity Report:

Week 23: Total workout time: 10 hrs 19 minutes. Cross training workout time: 1 hr 27 minutes.

Week 23: Total workout time: 6 hrs 13 minutes. Cross training workout time: 3 hrs 20 minutes.

Cross training this week included 3 HIIT workouts, 1 yoga class, 1 kickboxing class, and 1 weight machine circuit (3 sets).

Week 24

Week 24

Week 24

Week 24 was much like week 23. On Sunday, my husband wanted me to run with him. Since I was running less mileage these two weeks, I obliged. I did two HIIT workouts this week, but on Wednesday I noticed my calf was sore, and my left foot had been cramping up on the outside when I ran on the treadmill Tuesday. So I decided to rest completely on Wednesday. Thursday it felt better, and I made it to yoga and ran on the treadmill. I kept my treadmill runs to 4:1, being that they were shorter. I did my long run on Saturday with my husband. He ran his longest run yet- 5.77 miles! I was supposed to do 7.. bumped it up to 8 in my mind.. but Saturday was really windy and in the 30’s. I really didn’t want to do another 2 miles, so I stopped when my husband was done. I also had a party to go to on Sunday and wanted to get up our Christmas decorations, wrap gifts, etc. Time is at a premium during the Christmas season.. so I slacked a little on the long run.

Total mileage in Week 24: 16.37 miles (3 hrs, 20 minutes of running!)

Total Dopey training miles: 359.93

Week 24 Activity Report:

Week 22: Total workout time: 10 hrs 19 minutes. Cross training workout time: 1 hr 27 minutes.

Week 24: Total workout time: 6 hrs 15 minutes. Cross training workout time: 2 hrs 55 minutes.

Right now, I’m in the midst of my second Dopey trial.. 3 miles yesterday, 6 miles today, 12 on Saturday and 23 on Sunday. This is also my peak week! Next week begins my 2 week taper! Been a long time since July, but it’s so close now! Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

