Motivational Monday: Today is Tomorrow

 

I saw this last week and it struck a chord with me. In 2007 when I first started going to my gym.. I was tired, I was sore, and I didn’t want to go. It’s almost hard to remember what it was like when I had to convince myself to go to the gym. I do remember trying to talk myself in (or out!) of it, but I don’t remember how it felt to even question it. Now, working out is just something I do.. like hygiene. But one particular thing did click one day; I had convinced myself to go to the gym one afternoon, and I really didn’t want to be there. I realized that, yes.. it was hard. Yes, it was boring. Yes, it hurt. But it wasn’t going to get any easier. It hurt yesterday and I survived. It will hurt tomorrow, and I’ll still go. Today is tomorrow. today is yesterday. No matter what, this is what it takes. but if I gave up and just stopped, nothing would get accomplished. It just wouldn’t. So I trudged on. I survived yesterday, I’ll survive tomorrow too.. just keep putting one foot in front of the other and eventually I’ll get there.

So here I am.. and I did a workout yesterday.. and I did one today too.. and I’m pretty sure I’ll do one again tomorrow. Because giving up is not an option. No one can do it for me.. I have to do it.

Leave a Reply

