Motivational Monday: All About The Finish

Every Time!

Every Time!

 

So I figured that since I’m up and running again, I’d post a Motivational Monday pertaining to running.

Hard to believe, but I have a love-hate relationship with running. The act of doing it isn’t really the most fun in the world. Weather extremes, sore joints and muscles, new distances, early weekend wake-up calls, and endless hours of physical activity doesn’t exactly thrill me. BUT it’s how I feel AFTER I run (or exercise in general) that keeps me coming back for more.

The feeling of accomplishment, of renewal, the sensation that I just climbed a mountain (sometimes, literally lol) are all things that get me moving and out the door after work or early on a Saturday morning. A feeling of belonging to the running community- one of the most supportive communities you could ever find, keeps me moving when I feel like stopping. And of course, being able to eat that extra cookie helps too.

The act of running’s not all bad though.. I love being out early, before the rest of the world is awake and moving. The air is the cleanest and everything is refreshed from the day before. Everything is still and peaceful.

I never feel as strong as I feel at the end of my runs. I walk a little taller, I feel a little more bad-ass. It’s the biggest confidence booster in my arsenal, and it’s what keeps me coming back for more!

Next time you are struggling in a run, remember the finish, and how wonderful you will feel when your done!

Leave a Reply

