Recipe of the Week: Protein Pancakes

I have a thing for pancakes. However.. the mix you get in the box might not be the best thing for you. I’ve been trying to eat a little healthier these days.. and that includes trying to eat whole foods as much as possible. I also cut back on my carb intake a bit, because I’m not running at the moment, and can’t do other high impact or mega calorie/energy burning activities I like to do. So I turn to my favorite source for new and innovative recipes.. Pinterest.

I found a recipe for protein pancakes. Protein is great because it fills you quicker and remains with you longer. There are a bunch of places I’ve found the recipe, but for the purposes of this post, I’m using the one I found from Inside BruCrew Life. The Recipe is called Skinny Chocolate Banana Pancakes. It is a great recipe as is, but I’ve also used it as the base for other pancake varieties, including peanut butter banana and banana walnut.

picture is from Inside BruCrew Life, it is not mine. For the recipe, click HERE

This picture is from Inside BruCrew Life, it is not mine. For the recipe, click HERE

THESE were mine :) Chocolate banana protein pancakes!

THESE were mine 🙂 Chocolate banana protein pancakes!

These protein pancakes are not specifically low/no carb.. but they use rolled oats as the dry base- a better alternative to white flour which is processed. The recipe calls for only 1/2 cup oats, so it is not the main ingredient either. I did add two scoops of my EAS Lean protein powder to the batter (vanilla flavor- more universal).

Last weekend, I attempted to make berry pancakes using this same recipe as a base. Omitted the chocolate, cinnamon, and honey, and added 2 cups [pureed] berries. The berries were purchased frozen, and I thawed them out before pureeing. I added the pureed berries straight to the batter.

20140630-064645-24405098.jpg

Cooking my berry protein pancakes

I found that these cooked extremely slow. I messed a bunch of them up because they fell apart while flipping. I determined that there were too many wet ingredients in the batter compared to dry, and the pancakes turned out a little mushy. I think next time I’ll either have to up the oats, or downsize the banana/berries. (I did use really large bananas too.. might have added to the problem.)

The flavor was spot on though… besides the texture, they were actually quite yummy!

20140630-064645-24405645.jpg

I like Reddi Whip on my pancakes instead of syrup 🙂

Here is the calorie breakdown for 1 pancake (based on a total yield of 9). If you do Weight Watchers, these ended up being 2 points each.

protein pancakesNote that I am in no way taking credit for this recipe, nor claiming that I created it. This post is simply to share my experience and review of the original recipe found on insidebrucrewlife.com. For a link to the recipe, click HERE.

One thought on “Recipe of the Week: Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

