Gotta Love Springtime

I know I still have to write my recap of the Frederick Running Festival I participated in two weekends ago. I have it on my list, and I promise to get to it soon!

I never really got the chance to talk about April too much.. so here’s my little recap of that.

April started out with a little snow (Surprised? Not after THIS winter.) I had three races planned this pas month: The Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, The Sole of the City 10K, and Nike Women’s DC Half Marathon. I did in fact complete all 3 of them.. but on a 12 mile run the day after Sole of the City, I started experiencing pain on the top of my foot. This made for a very nervous Nike half.. and even MORE nervous Frederick Running Festival, which I did first weekend of May. But, as a tried and true (and probably stupid) runner, I decided that my races were too important (and too expensive!) to skip. Luckily.. I made it ok.. though I’m still dealing with foot pain. I decided to take a break from running for a couple weeks to allow it to heal.. but I’m getting nervous (and anxious from not running!) about it. I may decide if it doesn’t improve by next week to see a podiatrist. I’m sure I’ll keep everyone updated.

In April, I ran 63.77 miles- only a few miles less than March. you would think with all these races that I would have a higher mileage count.. but with racing comes much needed recovery time.. which takes away from a typical running average. April’s miles brings me up to 267.22 for the year so far.

April running data

April running data

 

Also in April… my nephew turned 5, my niece turned 2, and my sister hit the big 2-8. April was a rather expensive month, particularly because of the birthdays and the races. BUT… May has three pay periods in it.. so That makes up for it a bit.

The first weekend in May brought the Frederick Running Festival. As stated, I haven’t gotten to the recap yet.. but here’s a little preview for you..

10341718_778777818833263_7566655163962606034_n

10308220_778778478833197_5048836946693269915_n

10292155_778780335499678_7492362381108130086_n

 

Last weekend I took a much welcomed break from running. Last Thursday was my birthday.. and I celebrated at home with my husband. I picked up a pie at a local bakery. Confession, I kinda have a thing for chocolate and peanut butter.. and by thing, I mean it better not be anywhere near me or I’m going to eat it all. I was really craving a peanut butter chocolate cake. For some reason, it’s really hard to find this time a year- everything is all sponge cake and strawberries. don’t get me wrong.. I like that too.. but it’s no chocolate and peanut butter.

So I went to this bakery (a well known place around the Baltimore area.. not down the street, but not too too far.) We actually got our wedding cake from there.. so I knew it had some great stuff. Upon arrival and not seeing my coveted cake of choice.. I asked and was told “we don’t have peanut butter cake, but we have peanut butter pie.” I looked at the red velvet cake I was eyeing as a replacement.. looked back at the pie.. and decided flavor won out over content.

So I had my pie.. and I kinda wished I bought the cake. It was almost like cheesecake consistency. Way more peanut butter than chocolate, not a good balance of flavor.. and very rich- it basically tasted like a peanut butter cream cheese flavored stick of butter. I ate my piece and was very full. Yeah prob won’t be getting that again.. but it looked good anyways!

image

 After the pie, I opened my presents from my husband. He got me my new Garmin FR 220 watch I had been looking at! He also got me 3 HUGE boxes of cliff bars, and a box of Gu flavor mix. Best runner’s b-day ever!

image

 

Friday I had to work. My Coworkers made sure to decorate my office though

image

image

My boss wanted to take me to lunch- so a few co-workers and I went out to Panera Bread. We had a bigger lunch planned later in the week (yesterday actually) but he wanted to do a smaller one on Friday. No objections, I love Panera.

Friday night I had planned a dinner with some friends, and my mom and her boyfriend went too. We went to a hibachi grill. Little did I know it, but half our party had never been to one before! We had a fantastic time!

10259882_851600174855715_3816133205530820751_n

My husband and I

On Saturday, one of my cousin’s got married in Annapolis and had a lovely reception on the Eastern Shore, right by the water. this was our second to last wedding for a while- our next and last one being Mike’s brother’s in NY at the end of the month.

little grainy.. I was sitting in the back

little grainy.. I was sitting in the back

bride and groom's entrance!

bride and groom’s entrance!

selfie

selfie

veranda looking out onto the lawn

veranda looking out onto the lawn

sunset on the bay

sunset on the bay

 

Sunday we took on the task of attempting to re-seed our lawn. We’ve done this twice before and have only managed to grow weeds. This year we bought a cover for the seed. Previous years we just put the seed down. I think since we have southern exposure on the front of the house that any seedling that grows gets killed off by the heat and sun. BUT this year we put down the cover, spread some seed started dirt, fertilized and limed it all. This year we’ll have grass dammit!

sweeping up the extra seed

sweeping up the extra seed

Zeus being good!

Zeus being good!

all covered up (least it's green now!)

all covered up (least it’s green now!)

THIS weekend, I’m heading back to Lowes to get some plants- time to tackle the vegetable garden and plant some flowers! I also need a new bush to replace the poor dying one in the front :-/ I’m not particularly enjoying my time off from running, but at least I’m getting stuff done! Gotta love Spring!

though might be a little stir crazy!

though might be a little stir crazy!

Leave a Reply

