Motivational Monday: “There Is No Finish Line”

Anyone ever hear that quote before? It’s actually the title of a documentary film about Joan Benoit Samuelson– Olympic gold medalist and long time Boston Marathon record holder who over the years has helped pave the way for women’s running in a time when the sport was domineered by men. I was fortunate enough to hear her speak at the Nike Women’s Half Expotique in DC this past weekend. She said something that struck me.. and I immediately wrote it down in the notepad of my phone. She said “With every finish line we cross, there’s always a reason to go further.”

Joan Benoit Samuelson and Shalane Flanagan at the Nike Women's DC Expotique

Joan Benoit Samuelson and Shalane Flanagan at the Nike Women’s DC Expotique

I think this quote rings true with every runner. There’s always a new challenge, a new distance, a new record, a new goal we are always chasing down. We love our sport- we love how it makes us feel when we catch that goal. We love our feelings of accomplishment- of going out of our comfort zone, working hard, experiencing set backs, enduring pain and risking injury. We are always trying to push to the next level- weather it be for bling, or for glory, for charity or for fun- to say “I did it” is something no one can ever take away.

To do something no one ever thought I could do- or even I never thought I could do, is the secret pull that keeps me coming back to the starting line. I’m out to prove to myself that I AM strong, I CAN do whatever I set my mind to, and I WILL take it to the next level. Proving to yourself that you can is the ultimate prize.. one we as runners are always chasing.

Nike Women’s this weekend was a fantastic race. It was also one of my all time slowest. But sometimes it’s not always about how fast you can do it.. sometimes it’s about the challenge- the limitations you face, the weakness that invades when you least expect and definitely weren’t planning for. BUT victory was taken.. finish line crossed- and it’s on to the next one!

Leave a Reply

