Motivational Monday: Blessed

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Motivational Monday. If you read my last post, then you’d know I’ve been crazy busy lately. But today I had a little time, so I wanted to throw one up here.

Ever have a run you feel just won’t end? What about one where it was really hot or really cold and you just wanted to give up and go home. Ever go on a run and no matter how hard you feel you’re running, you still feel like you’re not going anywhere. We all have.

Conversely, ever have a run where you feel like you could go one forever? Ever feel like you could just run all day long. Ever kill your PR in a race and feel like you’re on top of the world? Ever just feel at peace and happy, the clean air filling your lungs as you take in the beautiful scenery around you?

Running is my love and my hate all in one. I have good days and bad days, good races and bad races. I have aches and pains, days where I’m worried about my knee, and days I feel new ailments. There are days with the best weather where I feel like I’m indestructable. The one thing I always think about whether I’m having a good day or a bad day.. is how lucky I am to be happy and healthy, and to have the physical ability to be able to run.

When I was training with TnT, this was easy to think about. When I was tired, cold, hungry, hurting.. I would think about the patients who were undergoing chemotherapy.. people who couldn’t get out of bed and would give their arm to be healthy let alone run. There were always stories of runners who had gotten sick.. and now needed people to run for them. There was my grandmother, who I was running for. To run is to be alive. whether it’s a good day or a bad day.. 1 mile or 10. Running is life. Feel blessed you are strong and capable and healthy. Take pride in making the most of yourself. Do what you can today, because you never know what tomorrow will bring!

 

Leave a Reply

