I’m Alive!

Wow it’s been a rough couple of weeks. I’ve been slacking on my posts, but life’s been a bit hectic… Sorry about that!

Work has been crazy. Currently I’m working on two different projects, both pretty pressing. The one project involves testing on a GC/MS (gas chromatography/mass spectrometry) instrument using various isothermal (meaning single temperature) programs and several different test compounds. So I have to make solutions for each (of the 7) compound and calibrate first. Long story short, it’s a lot of data and a lot of work. I have a meeting tomorrow with our customer to update on progress. I’m still verifying my calibration solutions.. and then my GC broke down overnight.. and I have to re-test on a different instrument. Grrr.

I’m also working on obtaining some service contracts, and had a deadline of today to submit all my paperwork. I have three I’m working on.. with 10 different forms to prepare, several of which need to be approved before I can submit them to contracting. I’ve never done this before, so this experience has pretty much sucked big time. I’ve been working on this stuff for 3 days straight now.. very stressful to try and beat my deadline. I even took work home with me on Monday to try and get ahead a little. It helped somewhat, but still had to spend all day yesterday preparing stuff, doing market research, contacting various people Etc. I’m so over this. lol

Last weekend we drove up to New York for a wedding. We got to enjoy ourselves a little and visit with friends. It was good to see and talk with everyone.. and of course see my husband’s friend get married 🙂 We did some dancing, some drinking, some eating lol all the fun wedding stuff. I was a little bummed that we were only there for the one night. We headed back home last Sunday morning after breakfast with everyone- a really quick trip.

My Husband and I

My Husband and I

Last Sunday we did a lot to prepare for the week- went shopping, did laundry, prepared food for the week, made dinner, cleaned up a little. I was exhausted by the time I went to bed. We had fun at the wedding, but I was kinda bummed I didn’t get much down time over the weekend.

This week, I was off on Friday.. which was good- because I went to DC again on Saturday for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler. We (my friends and I) headed down to the expo on Saturday, and stayed overnight in a hotel outside of Greenbelt. The race was this morning. I had never done this one before, and was really looking forward to the promise of a nice race and beautiful weather I was not disappointed. I was a little concerned about running, due to the fact that I hadn’t run more than 6 miles since Rock N Roll. The weekend after RnR, my calf (Achilles) was hurting. It felt better by the weekend, but I really didn’t want to push too hard on it. so I did an easy 6 mile run. That week, I ran 3 miles on the treadmill and noticed my hamstring was hurting (my calf was a little achy, but not sore exactly.) I didn’t run the rest of the week (though I did some cross training/yoga.. but I didn’t want to push my leg, so I tried to keep the leg movement to a minimum.) I missed my long run last weekend because we went to the wedding. I did run 3 miles last Tuesday.. though it was slow and I was a little worried about pushing myself.

here's a little preview.. full post coming soon!

here’s a little preview.. full post coming soon!

I’ve been slacking on the gym and my eating a little bit too.. just adds to the stress 😦

Anyways.. hoping to report back with a new race recap this week! I’m also looking to post an overview of March.. as well as those product reviews I said I wanted to do.. I may have added some stuff to that list.. so I’ll work on that. Hope everyone enjoys the rest of their weekend!

whew! Just need to relax a little!

whew! Just need to relax a little!

 

4 thoughts on “I’m Alive!

  1. I haven’t been real motivated to post either haha.

    I love weddings! Music, food, drinks, etc. Looks like you had fun!

    • We did thank you! The last wedding we went to was ours.. it was so nice to go to someone else’s and not worry about hosting anyone! It was also great to relax and catch up with friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

