Throwback Thursday Firsts.. and What Happened Last Thursday..

In honor of my first half marathon of the season.. my Throwback Thursday photo this week is from my very first half marathon and the 2012 Disney Marathon Weekend.

2012 Disney Half Marathon finisher!

2012 Disney Half Marathon finisher!

It was the furthest I’d ever run at the time.. and I remember all the new aches and pains I had to deal with to get me there. I remember hitting 8 miles in training and my knees just ached. I remember thinking “well 8 is my injury threshold” because prior to that mileage, I had no pain or fatigue in my legs after my long runs. I remember the 9 miler I did the week after that.. where I was so glad I had one of the more experienced girls on my team running ahead of me.. because if she wasn’t there, I wouldn’t have made it. I remember my first 12 miler.. on the hills of Annapolis.. and finishing the first 6 miles (an out and back leg) and thinking “really? I have to do another 6 right now?”

Dawn and I, 12 miler in Annapolis

Dawn and I, 12 miler in Annapolis

I remember the magic of running in Disney World.. all the cool entertainment along the highway.. running through the parking lot booths before Magic Kingdom.. seeing my husband (then boyfriend) at the Transportation Ticket Center and being so excited to give him a hug! I remember running through Cinderella’s Castle (the best part!).

Magic Kingdom

Magic Kingdom

I remember running back down the highway and pausing on the overpass to stretch and seeing all the runners way ahead of me on their way to Epcot… all the runners way behind me coming down the highway below.. and all the purple shirts like the one I was wearing, representing the fight against blood cancer. I remember running passed Spaceship Earth in Epcot and the choir at mile 12. I remember asking my friend “can you believe we’re really doing this!?” as we approached the finish line. What an experience. What a life changing, emotional, painful, and extremely satisfying experience. I’ve been hooked ever since.

finishing!

finishing!

Last week, I got to do something really exciting. I was talking to my husband a few weeks ago about our trip to Disney next January for the 2015 Marathon Weekend. My husband was saying he was interested in doing the 10k.. which really surprised me, because he’s never done one.. and has never had any desire to run more than 3 miles ever. My sights are set on the Dopey Challenge (because I’m very stupid.. and submit to peer pressure.. and because my eyes are bigger than my legs and feet.) We were discussing what this would cost us.. as we would not be going with Team in Training this time. The races are expensive.. as is Disney in general.. and it sounds so over the top to pay almost $600 in race fees alone. I was on Facebook at the time and saw a post by the Suze Orman Show (which we watch on Saturday nights because my husband and I are really 80 and have no lives.) The post was a solicitation for people to participate on the Can I Afford It Segment- where people call in and describe what they want to buy, give Suze their finances, and she tells them if they can afford it or not. I jokingly told my husband.. I wonder what Suze would say to us if we called in and wanted to spend $600 to run. My husband then told me how we would probably get on because our request was so unusual. I clicked on the link from Facebook and saw that the application was a simple forum to fill out and submit. I asked my husband “should I do it?” and he said “go for it.. couldn’t hurt to try.” So I did.. and got an email a few hours later from one of the show’s producers asking if we would be interested on being on the show. (!)

I was so excited! I was going to talk to Suze Orman! I was sent a finance worksheet to fill out and return back so Suze could look over our financial standing. I was scheduled for the call between 11:45 and 12:15 last Thursday. The producer called and put me on hold. Then she came back and told me they were getting ready to start and I was in the middle of the callers. So I sat tight on the line and waited until I heard a voice “Stephanie! What do you want to buy!?” It was crazy that I was talking to THE  Suze Orman. I told her about the trip and she couldn’t believe I wanted to run that many races back to back (I really can’t believe it either LOL). I think our file really impressed her because she instantly approved us! I was expecting to do a little discussion about how we were paying for the trip.. but she didn’t even want to ask. I was so excited I exclaimed “Thank You!” ( Which seems like a dumb thing to say in retrospect lol) and the call was dropped immediately. I was kind of shocked about how abrupt the end of the call was.. but it’s fine.. I talked to Suze Orman! And I’m going to Disney World! A few days later I found this gem in my mailbox..

APPROVED!

APPROVED!

So yeah.. that was an exciting experience. Now I just can’t wait for registration to open!

One thing to note.. RunDisney has updated their website to include the 2015 Disney Marathon Weekend.. and the race fees have gone up! It will now be $35 more for Dopey, and $10 more for the 10K. (I’d like to give Disney the benefit of the doubt and suspect that the higher race fees are absorbing the cost of improvements/changes they are making to the races.. based on the feedback from the 2014 races.. but it’s Disney so.. cha-ching!)  We also spoke to a travel agent this weekend, who said that Disney may be re-pricing their resorts, which is why you can’t book anything past Dec 2014 right now.. and they’ve increased park ticket prices. Sigh. I still think we would be approved though.. but it means we are going to settle for an All Star resort instead of a moderate. Oh well.. it will still be a fabulous time!

I’ll leave you with a TbT pic of Zeus.. Happy Thursday!

July 2007.. only 5 months old!

July 2007.. only 5 months old!

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Firsts.. and What Happened Last Thursday..

  1. That’s great that Suze Orman validated your plans but I think it sounds like such a wonderful experience, especially doing it with your husband this time, that her approval doesn’t matter. Expensive but worth it.

    • We kinda expected her to approve us anyways.. so it wasn’t a surprise. But it was really very exciting to be a part of the show and get to talk to her! Can’t wait until registration opens in April!

Leave a Reply

