One Year

Today marks the one year anniversary of my grandmother’s passing. Last year I was in Disney World, getting ready to run my first marathon. When I got the email, it took me by surprise. I knew her time was coming soon.. I just didn’t expect it two days before the race.

This was my second TNT race.. my first marathon. Training for my first half marathon was hard. The marathon was really tough. Marathons not only test your physical endurance, but your mental endurance as well. It was especially hard due to my knee injury. Her death gave me resolve, and I knew I would not let myself fail. In the end.. my grandmother’s memory (and perhaps her will, and mine) got me through. I don’t know if I could have done it without her.

Because you are gone does not mean you are forgotten. You leave imprints of yourself on this world. My grandmother’s illness has inspired me in so many ways. Inspired me to be healthy, inspired me to be stronger, inspired me to give. Today my husband and I made a donation to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society in her memory. We also made a donation in memory of my Great Uncle, who succumbed to his own illness 7 days ago. Never forgotten, always inspiring.

Candle-flame-and-reflection

Leave a Reply

