Motivational Monday: No Regrets

As you may have noticed by now.. I have a mild obsession with Pinterest. One of the things I like to do is look up “fitness motivation” under the search field. There you can find all sorts of things- from pictures of fit bodies, to links to fitness blogs, and my favorite- motivational quotes. Some of them don’t apply to me (I don’t lift heavy weights, nor do I aim to look like a supermodel) but I can find a lot of quotes that strike a chord in what I believe in as far as fitness goes. So, I decided to create a recurring blog post featuring a motivational quote that inspires me.

I usually do not need motivation on Mondays. Monday is the first day after the weekend.. a sucky day for work, but a great day for fitness. Since I tend not to be as careful/active on the weekend.. Monday is my all out day. It’s usually Wednesday where I need the help.. I’ve been going hard for two days. and I want to be lazy. Maybe my workouts are a little lighter.. maybe I want to stay home instead of go to the gym.. maybe I feel like I deserve to eat a piece of candy because I’ve been working so hard. Whatever the case.. my motivation slides. But I know this isn’t the case for everyone.. and “Motivational Monday sounds better than “Motivational Wednesday” so I will keep this post on Mondays for now.. and maybe look at it again on Wednesday to remind myself where my head was at on Monday 🙂

SO for today’s Motivational Monday:

Ok.. so maybe you have memories of doing a hard workout and feeling sore afterwards. But that soreness is a sign that your body is getting stronger. I always dread my long runs on Saturday mornings. I drag myself out of bed at 6 am, thinking “I just want to stay here where it’s cozy and warm.” I’m in the car at 7:15 am thinking “maybe I can just run 6 miles today instead of my planned 8”. but EVERY time I finish my run, I feel such a relief. A tired, achy, but “so glad I ran” relief. I feel like I accomplished something.. even though my inner voice was telling me not to the whole time. When I first started going to the gym, I would get dressed, force myself in my car and drive to the gym. I knew that as long as I could just get to the gym, I would work out. I would tell myself.. “ok I can just do 10-15 minutes on the treadmill.” But I’d end up doing 30 minutes, because I love to push and challenge myself. I’ve never regretted a workout. Ever. I always walk away feeling challenged, accomplished, and frankly, quite bad-ass. So do what you can to get yourself out the door, and the rest will follow. I promise you, you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

