Virtual 5K and Raffle for the Cure!

Hope everyone had a good Labor Day yesterday! I’ve been working pretty hard ironing out the details for this event, but I think I got it down.
As I mentioned, September is National Blood Cancer Awareness Month! Here are a few facts regarding Blood cancer and the LLS:

-An Estimated 957,902 people in the US are living with or are in remission from blood cancers. Every four minutes, someone new is diagnosed. Every 10 minutes, someone dies.

-Survival rates for children with leukemia have improved from 3% 40 years ago, to 90% today.

-Hodgkin lymphoma patient survival rates have more than doubled to 88% since the 1960’s.

-The Survival Rate for myeloma patients has tripled in the past decade.

Money raised by members of TNT help fund research for new treatments and cures for leukemia, lymphoma and myeloma, as well as provides critical education and support to cancer patients and their families.

Keeping these things in mind… I Give you my September feature fundraiser-

Purple Running Pug’s Virtual 5K and Raffle for the Cure!

SO WHAT’S THAT!?!

Participants run or walk 3.1 miles and are entered to win prizes! Miles must be continuous, but the race can be done on your terms (outdoors, on a treadmill.. etc.)

WHEN!? WHEN!?

The race will take place during the week of September 30- October 6. Report your time by midnight 10/6. Early and late times will not be accepted.

WHAT DO I GET!?!?!

Prizes will be awarded to the top 3 male and female runners, as well as top 3 overall walkers:

Runners:

  • 1st place male/female will receive an Entertainment Coupon Book and 3 free entries to the raffle.

  • 2nd place male/female will receive a $15 giftcard to Kohl’s or Starbucks and 2 free entries to the raffle.

  • 3rd place male/female will receive a Bondi Band of their choice and 1 free entry to the 50/50 raffle

Walkers:

Top 3 walking finishers (regardless of gender) will receive a Bondi Band of their choice and 1 free entry to the 50/50 raffle.

OOOH I WANT THAT! HOW DO I ENTER???

Cost: A donation to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society-

Runners $10

Walkers $5

All who sign up gets 1 free entry to the 50/50 raffle!
To sign up- visit my online form HERE

Once your registration is received, I will send you instructions on how to forward your donation. (You can get a hint by visiting my Donation Information page)

When your donation has been posted, I will email you a custom race bib to wear during your race. (This is optional, but the point is to promote blood cancer awareness)

Run/walk your race between 9/30 and 10/6 and submit it to my online form (to be determined). Winners will be announced on 10/7/12.

SO WHAT’S THIS RAFFLE BUSINESS?

In conjunction with my virtual race, I’m holding a 50/50 raffle during the month of September. Participants buy entries to the raffle, and the winner receives 50% of the pot raised. The other 50% will go to my fundraiser for the LLS.

The entry price points are as follows:

$1.00 = 1 entry

$5.00 = 6 entries

$10.00 = 13 entries

$15.00 = 20 entries

$25.00 = 32 entries

$50.00 = 65 entries

$75.00 = 97 entries

$100.00 = 135 entries

SO HOW DO I GET IN ON THAT!?!?

To enter, fill out my online form HERE.

Once your registration is received, I will send you instructions on how to forward your donation. (You can get a hint by visiting my Donation Information page)

Entries will not be accepted after midnight, 10/6. Entries will be added to a spreadsheet, and then randomized. A random number generator will then select the winner. Winners will be announced on 10/7/12.

A Few NotesPaypal is my preferred method of payment simply because I can keep track of the total I’m raising through this event. Once the winners have been announced and the numbers finalized- all proceeds will be transferred to my TNT fundraising account and will be displayed as September Virtual 5K & Raffle for the Cure.

Make sure to stay hydrated!

2 thoughts on “Virtual 5K and Raffle for the Cure!

  1. Pingback: Half Past September? « Purple Running Pug

  2. Pingback: Welcoming October and Breast Cancer Awareness Month « Purple Running Pug

Leave a Reply

