This One’s a Fighter!

Give em hell, turn their heads
Gonna live life ’til we’re dead.
Give me scars, give me pain
Then they’ll say to me, say to me, say to me
There goes the fighter, there goes the fighter
Here comes the fighter
That’s what they’ll say to me, say to me, say to me,
This one’s a fighter

If you fall pick yourself up off the floor (get up)
And when your bones can’t take no more (c’mon)
Just remember what you’re here for
Cuz I know Imma damn sure

Give em hell, turn their heads
Gonna live life ’til we’re dead.
Give me scars, give me pain
Then they’ll say to me, say to me, say to me
There goes the fighter, there goes the fighter
Here comes the fighter
That’s what they’ll say to me, say to me, say to me,
This one’s a fighter

(From The Fighter- by Gym Class Heros

This is the song that got me up the hill yesterday. I had already run about 8 miles, and this was the last big hill to push through. Yesterday’s run was pretty awful, not gonna lie. It started off ok.. about mid 70’s- a little warmer than last week, but also a little more humid. I was feeling this one though. My knees were a little achy.. I just credited that to a nice HARD speed session last Thursday. I kind of got a second wind around mile 4, but I decided to take my Gu anyways.. cause I knew I’d be dragging in a mile if I didn’t. Feeling pretty good when we passed the McDonalds- this is where we’ve been stopping during the summer, to stock up on ice and cool off a few mins before continuing. But we didn’t stop here this time.. it wasn’t that bad out. Big mistake. The sun came out around mile 5. Ugh.. things started heating up. I was getting sweat in my eyes.. and I was getting thirsty. I wear a hydration belt with two flasks, where I usually carry G2 (low sugar version of Gatorade.) But it was warm and just wouldn’t quench my thirst… it was keeping my hydrated though.. which I guess that’s a consolation. My running buddy was dragging though. She has 4 bottles on her hydration belt, and she was out of water. At least we were on our way back to the trail.. so we just held on to the end. I got to my car and grabbed my extra water bottle I brought- chugged half the bottle in one swig! I hate to say it… but bring on the cooler weather! (Excuse me while I go wash my mouth out with soap.)

So, like I mentioned in my previous blog.. I’m planning a special event for National Blood Cancer Awareness Month. Well, I would like to announce that I’m holding a virtual 5K! (oooh… what’s that?)

Runners and walkers can sign up by making a donation for the LLS. I will send everyone who participates a personalized race bib to wear (optional.) You run or walk your race between September 23- 29 and report your time to me. The fastest times will receive prizes (yay prizes!) That’s pretty much it.
I’m going to post again soon with specific instructions on how to sign up, forward payment, and prize specifics.. but that’s the general deal.

I’m also going to be hosting a 50/50 raffle throughout the month of September. All those who sign up for my virtual 5K will get 1 free entry to the raffle. (Whoo hoo!)

So lots going on in September- please don’t forget to check back for more details.. and please “Like” my Facebook page atΒ www.facebook.com/PurpleRunningPug

I ❀ Labor Day!

One thought on “This One’s a Fighter!

Leave a Reply

