Facebook Official.. and Other Ramblings

Yup, that’s right.. Purple Running Pug has a Facebook page. (I know, who doesn’t?) BUT I figured this would be a good way to keep friends and family updated on fundraisers I have going on, and my training progress in general. By creating a page, it also gives me a new platform to try and put myself out there more. By nature, I’m quite the introvert… but I have a pretty ambitious goal as far as fundraising goes.. so the more visibility the better. This is kinda a scary thing for me, but I also think it’s therapeutic in a way.

so true

On that note- I’m trying to arrange to set up a table outside of my gym to sell Bondi Bands and Entertainment books. I spoke to the front desk attendant and she gave me the card of who I need to contact, so I’m going to do that later today. My running buddy set up a fundraiser night at the local Greene Turtle restaurant in September and asked If I wanted to help. Last year I held one there and was able to raise $150. She said they were allowing us to hand out flyers in the parking lot, as well as set up a table inside for donations. I want to sell there too.. so that should boost things a little bit.

I signed up to work at M & T Bank stadium during the Raven’s games. I’m kinda excited for this fundraiser- cause I never get to go to games! The tickets are too expensive, and I don’t fare too well in cold weather either. While I won’t be WATCHING the games.. being at the stadium, seeing all the fans hyped up, and just taking in the atmosphere.. it’s exciting. It’s going to kick my you-know-what though pretty bad- the first few games are late… on weekdays. One Monday night, Sunday night, Thursday night.. I imagine not getting home until midnight or later… and I get up for work at 4:45. Yikes! Then there’s the game the day after I run the Baltimore Half Marathon.. which won’t be horrible, but I may be a little slow that day. BUT, I anticipate being able to raise a nice chunk by working them. A little sacrifice on my part is nothing compared to what cancer patients have to go through- it’s why we do what we do 🙂

I bleed purple ❤

Moving on… September is National Blood Cancer Awareness month! I would like to hold a special fundraising event ongoing through the month of September… but I’m still trying to work out the details. I will post about it hopefully sometime next week 😉 In the meantime, I plan on posting info about blood cancer throughout the month to promote awareness.

ribbons for leukemia, lymphoma, and myeloma awareness

That’s all I got for ya now. Stay tuned for more goings on, and as always, thank you so much for your continued support!

I’ll leave you with two Pug Pics of the day.. since I didn’t post one in my last entry 🙂 Have a good weekend everyone!

ready for the weekend!

helping out at my yardsale last year- we raised $120 for the LLS!

Leave a Reply

